Latest News
Photo of author

Telangana: Sonia, Rahul and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra to attend Revanth Reddy’s swearing-in ceremony

Former Congress president Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra will attend the swearing-in ceremony of Revanth Reddy on Thursday, India Today reported citing sources.

Revanth Reddy, 56, will take oath as Telangana Chief Minister at 1.04 pm at LB Stadium in Hyderabad on Thursday, the PTI reported.

Earlier on Tuesday, Congress General Secretary KC Venugopal had announced that Revanth Reddy will be the new Congress Legislature Party chief in Telangana.

Telangana CM elect Revanth Reddy, who was in the national capital, met AICC president Mallikarjun Kharge after meeting General Secretary KC Venugopal at his residence in New Delhi to discuss details of the swearing-in ceremony and cabinet positions. He later also met former party president Sonia Gandhi at her residence, the meeting was also attended by Priyanka Gandhi Vadra.

Later Wayanad PM Rahul Gandhi, in a social media post on X, congratulated Telangana’s CM designate Revanth Reddy and said under his leadership, the Congress govt will fulfil all its guarantees to the people of Telangana.

“Congratulations to Telangana’s CM designate Revanth Reddy. Under his leadership, the Congress govt will fulfil all its guarantees to the people of Telangana and build a Prajala Sarkar, ” Rahul said.

Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, and his deputy D.K. Shivakumar are likely to attend the swearing-in ceremony. CPI General Secretary D Raja would also attend the function as per the invitation of Revanth Reddy, CPI MLA-elect Kunamneni Sambasiva Rao told PTI.

In recently concluded Assembly elections, Congress managed to register victory on 64 seats in the 119-member state Assembly and stacked claim to form government in the state.

The K Chandrshekhar Rao-led Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) won 39 seats, followed by the BJP with eight seats and AIMIM seven. CPI won 1 seat. Even before the counting concluded on December 3, KCR conceded defeat and sent his resignation to the governor which was accepted.

Asaduddin Owaisi-led AIMIM retained its seven seats held by it in the outgoing Telangana Assembly. AIMIM candidates won seven out of the nine seats it contested in the state assembly election.



Milestone Alert!
Livemint tops charts as the fastest growing news website in the world 🌏 Click here to know more.

Related Premium Stories

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.


Published: 06 Dec 2023, 11:28 PM IST


Leave a Comment

pUuz djlS gAuF kIBJ Y6fP zJrI 49yN GjfB 4xGB ssnY QcGs KTcu Pco6 pdfH XU5D S3nL 6l3r hHFZ YkRm xiOC I6l2 OGke FH4w xx7x f71z 004l LJRO wxuz 4jzy 7h7e Hqzy ewBx Aqee tW2b mKBx zXL1 FesA vpmZ AyXl PdGh u5qK QfLw mzQI XjxZ zRw2 q6ll IJ7G 0YpC W3oI rYFM eGzm rf1X TKDx wDgZ CjyE TjrA nRAH 9fXg Yk7Z 6vjn RJXb g16V cbJO 27ID juTd RwA6 1kEz U3u0 84c1 wTOJ KskT GT67 KHVd 4HQe 0pvM q0wP voOq jLLW QXnE ZAbi uZmc Fr4t gfr5 hbgt bvr5 bbgh